Coins, Coins and more Coins!

All of my coins for the baby quilt are cut! Hmmm looking at the quilt can you tell what my friend is having? I really hope that they like the quilt once it is done!

I am now going to figure out if my 1/4” seams are accurate.  To do this, Amy has a great blog full of tutorials, you can find the tutorial here.

I am using some “test” coins to figure this out.

I also found this great article on Leaders and Enders, a way to cut down on your ends and get more quilting done in the process!!

I have been spending some time looking at some awesome quilts, so I hope to inspire myself to do more…and maybe even incorporate some knitting into it!  We will see!

I think that instead of starting yet another post about this quilt since I want to show off the first set of coins, that I will just add it to this post.

This is one set of the coins together, mind you there will be plenty more attached to this one, but atleast it is started, now I can go to bed!

Things to remember on this quilt, if you have fabric that has a direction, be sure to check the fabric before you add it to your coins, so that it is facing the right way!  you don’t want to get through all of your pieces and find out that one, in the middle of course is upside down!!

So for tonight, I ironed all of my fabric for this quilt, I cut the fabric into 2.5” strips and then cut those strips into 5” lengths, making them coins.  Then I tested my 1/4” seaming so that I get it right, and then I started to sew the coins together.  Yeah for me!  Progress, considering that this fabric has sat for the last 2 weeks while we moved, and while i aimlessly searched for my iron, which I didn’t find, but I did go out and buy me a new one, a small portable one, so that even if I find my iron, I can put this one in my travel bag or pack it for a quilting class etc!

Leave a Reply

Made on a Mac
