Quilt-a-long, Day 4 = One more Strip

I can’t say that I have ever tried log cabin quilting before.  I have knitted a log cabin dishcloth once, and I remember having to add on to each side as I went.  But quilting log cabin requires you to throw out any notion of chaining that you have gotten so fond of…lol…making this log cabin square required a lot of stand up, sit down, stand up, sit down…lol… but I enjoyed it non the less!

Starting in the middle of your log cabin design you work your way counter clockwise as you piece each section to the block, pinning, sewing and pressing in between.  I think it turned out lovely.

Now, HST’s arent my favorite thing in the world, it is making me rethink my up coming pinwheel sampler that I was thinking about doing after this one was complete…lol…but I can do them.  And I found out today that one of my rulers has a diagonal line across it (I know I am blind) and as long as my HST’s are 3.5″ or 4″ I can use this ruler to square them up before sewing them all together.  I was so excited for this!

Here are both of this weeks blocks together…

And finally all of my blocks together…

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 17:02:37

    Oh, they are gorgeous! I must fly over and get my instructions and get going! Your blocks look great!

    hugz

    Reply

  2. Cher
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 17:34:20

    Hey Lindsay

    I have a “square in a square” ruler and an “all-in-one” ruler. Both are great for HST’s.

    I made a tumbling block wall hanging using the sq n sq, and it was super easy. No weird angles.

    The sq n sq is my favorite of all.

    🙂

    Reply

    • Lindsay
      Jul 12, 2010 @ 21:22:59

      cool, i have just some plain Omnigrid rulers, nothing fancy, I will have to check out some of the other rulers that are out there. I just ordered an easy dresden ruler for making those, but I think I have to expand my ruler collection.

      Reply

  3. Melissa Corry
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 18:40:49

    I love how you fussy cute the center block of your log cabin. Your blocks look great!

    Reply

  4. krisvog
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 19:49:43

    These blocks are just delightful. I absolutely love the middle fussy-cut block in the log cabin. This is the first time I’m attempting a log cabin like this. For future reference, Elenaor Burns has a Quilt in a Day book of Log Cabins and the whole quilt, no matter what size, is chain pieced. So, don’t think it can’t be done! Thank you for posting these lovely blocks.

    Reply

  5. Brittany
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 20:43:24

    I love your fabric choices so much! Excellent job!

    Reply

  6. Melanie
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 05:06:09

    I think these blocks are just GORGEOUS! Love, love the colors! And the fussy-cut center of the log cabin is perfect! How clever!

    Must plug the Square-in-Square ruler. Just got it and it’s wonderful.

    Reply

  7. carol
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 07:29:15

    Your blocks are looking great. I think your whole quilt will look amazing.

    Reply

  8. Amy
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 12:27:16

    I love your blocks! The fabrics look amazing together. I can’t wait to see the next blocks!

    Reply

  9. Joanna
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 16:07:14

    The lady in the center of the log cabin is perfect! I love your fabric choices.

    Reply

  10. Sue
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 20:56:56

    I especially love your log cabin. All of the blocks look great together!

    Reply

  11. Violette Severin
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 18:25:03

    I’m loving the toile fabric in the middle of the log cabin block. Wonder why I never thought of that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Made on a Mac
